Cakes, Dessert, Sweets & treats

Birthday cake for sister- pink sponge with morello cherries and berries

Sister's 2016 birthday cake

This post is about a month late, but better late than never right?

Another cake that was put together in about 15 minutes after coming home from work- all the sponge layers and cream had been prepared, but I wanted to keep everything as fresh as possible, and that included not assembling the cake overnight.

I made this for my sister’s birthday in December last year, cardboard ‘V’ and all made by yours truly! 🙂

The sponge you see was meant to be just pink, but then overnight, something happened to the sponge, where parts of it turned purple! I suspect now that it might have been because I had used some morello cherry simple syrup over my cake layers to keep them nice and plushy. As one might have guessed, I also had morello cherries as part of the filling between the cake layers along with fresh raspberries. I then topped the cake with some Ferrero Rocher and berries, with a rim of rainbow crumbles that I learnt to make from Cupcake Jemma, which were A++++, so easy to make and probably my favourite part of the cake (definitely making them again!!)

Standard

One thought on “Birthday cake for sister- pink sponge with morello cherries and berries

Leave a Reply

