Dessert, Snacks, Sweets & treats

Easy Apple Pie

Easy Apple Pie

When I say easy, I really mean that this delicious apple pie is easy to make! Minimal fuss and a gorgeous golden coloured apple pie for sharing in a jiffy.

Credits to this yummy apple pie goes to the great Greek chef Akis Petretzikis! He has a youtube channel and it was here that I found and followed his Speedy Apple Pie recipe! I recommend watching Akis demonstrating how to make his pie so you’ve got a good idea of what you’re meant to do:

credit: Akis Kitchen | youtube

For my apple pie, I used what I had at home in terms of nuts, in this case I had pistachios on hand. So in they went!

Easy Apple Pie

I’m eager to make this apple pie again as my family really enjoyed it, but I think I might leave out the orange zest for the pie crust and top next time. While I do like putting orange zest in my baking usually, I felt like the zest overpowered the lovely apple taste …or perhaps I just put in too much zest myself… If you are a fan of a fresh zesty orange flavour in your dough with each bite, this wonderfully fragrant dough recipe from Akis is perfect.

Top of the cake fresh out of the oven!

Easy Apple Pie

As you can see, I didn’t dust a layer of icing sugar on my pie because I think it was sweet enough without it, and I might even reduce the amount of sugar I put in the next time I make this cake as well. The type of apple you use will definitely play a part in how sweet your pie will turn out, so being aware of this will help you decide how much sugar you want to add in!

I have added in my own tips into Akis recipe, and hopefully that you help you out!

Easy Apple Pie

====================

Easy Apple Pie:

Adapted from: Akis Kitchen

Ingredients:
For the filling

5 apples
1 tablespoon lemon juice
100 g granulated sugar
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
100 g nuts of your choice, chopped finely
1 teaspoon ginger powder
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

For the dough

200 g oil (use either sunflower, olive or vegetable)
200 g granulated sugar
100 g orange juice
the zest from two oranges (optional)
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 teaspoon ginger powder
500-550 g all-purpose flour
1 heaping tablespoon baking powder

Method:

  • Preheat oven to 170C (338F) Fan forced.

For the apple filling

  • Remove the apple skins. Place a clean kitchen towel into a bowl, to catch all the grated apple. Using the large blades of a grater, grate the apples into a bowl, grating until you reach the core and seeds.
  • Use the kitchen towel to squeeze and remove most of the juices.
  • Transfer squeezed apple into another bowl and add 1 tablespoon lemon juice. This will prevent the apple gratings to turn brown.
  • Mix in sugar, nuts, ginger, vanilla and cinnamon spices and set aside.

For the dough

  • In a bowl, add oil, orange juice, orange zest and sugar. Stir with a spoon or whisk until the sugar dissolves.
  • Add 500g flour and baking powder. Mix with a spatula until all of the ingredients are completely combined. If your mixture is still a little too wet, add a bit more flour.

For the apple pie

  • Grease a 26 cm tart pan with removable bottom with butter and flour, lining the bottom with baking paper if preferred.
  • Add half of the dough in spoonfuls to the tart pan to create the bottom of the pie crust.
  • Add the apple filling and spread evenly across the bottom of the crust.
  • Crumble the remaining dough filling with your fingertips and sprinkle over the apple filling until all used and evenly covering the top of the pie.
  • Bake the pie for 40-50 minutes.When ready the pie should be golden brown.
  • Remove from oven and allow it to cool for 30 minutes before serving with icing sugar if desired.

Enjoy! 🙂

Standard

3 thoughts on “Easy Apple Pie

  1. Fabulous cake ! I baked it right away after I spotted your post on Sunday and it was easy to make and absolutely delicious. I especially liked the sweet fragrance of oranges, ginger and cinnamon that filled our home. Thank you so much for sharing the recipe !

    • Oh that’s wonderful to hear that you tried making the cake too Leah! 🙂 You’re very welcome but thanks of course is due to the original chef Akis!
      Thank you so much for leaving such a lovely comment! I hope you have a very merry Christmas and a lovely 2017 ❤

      • Thank you ! Actually, I’ve known a similar traditional recipe called Lazy Pie (Лења пита), but your awesome version of the Greek dairy free egg free orange scented dough is just the thing I needed. Wishing you a cosy and merry Christmas and a wonderful New Year ! ❤

Leave a Reply

