Cakes, Dessert, Sweets & treats

Red Velvet Birthday Cake with Modeling Chocolate Roses

3 layer Red Velvet Cake

This year’s early birthday cake for mum!

Baking is therapeutic for me, so I really like to take my time when I cook, from getting all the ingredients out to putting the final touches in assembling a cake. Making this cake was not one of those times.

There were things that I had made in advance: the roses made out of modeling chocolate and the three layers of red velvet cake. But it was the assembling of the cake that really had me in a tizzle. I had somehow reasoned with myself that I’d be able to come home from work at 6:30PM and have the cake assembled to my liking by 7:00PM. *Laughs hysterically* While I don’t think I did the most awful job, the next time I know to give myself much more than half and hour.

So these are the roses I made out of modeling chocolate!

Modeling Chocolate

…Kidding! These are the two balls of modeling chocolate rolled into a ball pre-rose making.

I followed the instructions on Ann Reardon’s How to Cook That Youtube channel, where she takes you through step by step on how to go about making modeling chocolate here.  Screen Shot 2016-01-02 at 1.17.03 PMAs Ann informs us in her video, it’s very difficult (and expensive) to find corn syrup in Australia, and so I used glucose syrup instead. Despite the price per bag, I did decide to purchase Wilton’s Candy Melts in orange and yellow because I wanted to imitate the yellow and orange roses in mum’s garden. For Australians, you should be able to find Wilton’s Candy Melts at Big W in their baking section, and selected Spotlight stores.

Source: How to Cook That //YT

This is actually how my attempt at making roses turned out:

3 layer Red Velvet Cake

I’m very happy with how they turned out! 🙂 As suspected, making these roses did take quite a bit of time, and I’m glad that I made these the day before. Here is the recipe to make the rose shape:

Source: How to Cook That //YT

Now, the recipe I used my red velvet cake is from Joy of Baking by Stephanie Jaworski. This recipe works every time for me, rendering a cake that is always soft and delicious. The only change I made was to slightly reduce the amount of red food colouring and bake my mixture in three 8-inch baking pans, as opposed to two 9-inch baking pans are originally indicated in the Stephanie’s recipe. I had no idea each layer was going to turn out so thick!

 

Source: Joy of Baking //YT

For this cake, I will not be including a recipe below because there is not much I changed from the original recipes, but I will link all the page sources I used (that details all the quantities and ingredients needed). That being said, if you think there is something specific to my cake you believe I did that you cannot find on the original recipes, then please send me an email [foodscrabble@gmail.com] or leave a comment below and I’ll get back to you asap 🙂

To make chocolate modeling roses:

Anne Reardon’s How to Cook That: Modeling Chocolate Recipe | Making Chocolate Roses

To make red velvet cake:

Stephanie Jaworski’s Joy of Baking: Red Velvet Cake 

3 Layer Red Velvet Cake with Modeling Chocolate Roses

Standard

Leave a Reply

