Cakes, Dessert, Sweets & treats

4 Layer Raspberry & Cream Sponge Cake

4 Layer Raspberry & Cream Sponge Cake

Essentially me turning a raspberry & cream sponge roll into a cake! Originally I wasn’t going to post this, but with Valentine’s Day just round the corner and me seeing nothing but chocolate everywhere, I thought I might post this up for anyone who is looking to make something that isn’t chocolate focused but still maintains the blushes of red so commonly associated with this day. 🙂

I actually made this as a (super early) birthday cake for my brother back in early January as he won’t be at home to celebrate come his actual birthday (today, as I post this! 🙂 ). As I mentioned in my Yule log post, my brother is a big fan of raspberry and cream swiss rolls, so I thought I’d make him one in the form of a cake.

Still coming down from the high of how incredibly springy and soft Pierre Hermé’s recipe for their Buche de Noël was, I decided to use the same recipe for my sponge layers. I managed to get four 8 inch round layers out of one recipe. I suspect if my oven was bigger (the original recipe writes 40cm x 40cm and my oven is smaller) and I was able to spread the sponge mixture across more surface area, then perhaps I could have added another layer. But no matter! 4 was plenty for me!

It was very important that I take time to make sure that all the sponge mixture spread onto my silpat was as even as possible, or else I’d end up with 4 layers of sponge of uneven thickness.

I made some raspberry simple syrup to brush over my sponge layers, but because this sponge recipe is super fluffy and soft even after being in the fridge I do not think it is absolutely necessary.

After that it was mainly about whipping up my cream and assembling the cake.

The frosting for the cake was actually a cookies and cream frosting! It was simply me crushing up some Oreos (6, I believe) before mixing them in with my whipped cream. The tip is to not over-mix the Oreos in, otherwise you’ll find your whipped cream starts turning quite brown. I find incorporating your crushed Oreos into the whipped cream bit by bit helps avoid over-mixing.

4 Layer Raspberry & Cream Sponge Cake

As you can see, I used fresh raspberries through the cream layers of my cake and to decorate. I was just aware that frozen raspberries have a very high water content and when they defrost, said water begins to run. I also wanted the raspberries on top of my cake to hold their shape; whilst patting frozen raspberries would help absorb some of the water content, the raspberry becomes rather flat and droopy.

I really liked how my cake turned out and how it tasted. Nothing about the cake was too sweet and the fresh raspberries surprised the tongue with some tartness now and then.

Well, that’s it! I hope every body celebrating Valentine’s Day has a lovely day and for those where the day is not so significant, celebrate your fabulous self, like you should every day.

I’d love to know if you tried making your own raspberry and cream sponge cake, or if you’ve got any questions about my recipe or anything I’d written shoot me an email or leave a comment below 🙂

4 Layer Raspberry & Cream Sponge Cake
====================

4 Layer Raspberry & Cream Sponge Cake

Makes one 8-inch 4 layer cake

Ingredients

For the sponge:

-9 egg yolks
-80g caster sugar (granulated)
-5 egg whites
-50g caster sugar
-85g pastry flour

Raspberry simple syrup (optional)
-70g water
-70ml raspberry jam

Whipped Cream:
-600 ml whipped cream, cold
-scant 1/2 cup icing/powdered sugar
-1 teaspoon vanilla extract
– 6 to 7 Oreos, finely crushed

To decorate:
– punnet of raspberries
– chocolate of your choice

Method

  1. Preheat your oven to 230ºC/446ºF. Sift pastry flour. Whisk egg yolks with 80g sugar until creamy yellow. In a second bowl, whisk egg whites with 50g sugar until stiff. Pour in yolk mixture, folding in gently. Proceed to sift and fold flour into the mixture.
  2. Spread mixture evenly onto baking tray lined with parchment paper 40cm x 40cm. (Alternatively, spreading your mixture onto a silpat works just as well.) Slide into centre of oven for 5 to 6 minutes, or until the entire surface of the sponge has turned an even light golden brown. Let sponge cool completely, before peeling sponge away from parchment. The original recipe suggests using a metal tray pressed against the parchment to help with slowly and evenly peeling the parchment away.
  3. Heat raspberry jam and water together before straining through a sieve to remove raspberry seeds. Allow raspberry syrup to cool.
  4. In a separate bowl crush Oreos into fine crumbs. In a large mixing bowl, pour the heavy cream and mix on low-medium speed for several minutes. Once the cream has frothed and slightly thickened, add the sugar and vanilla. Continue to whip on medium-high until soft peaks form. Be careful not to over mix the cream, as it could turn into butter rather fast.
  5. Reserve 6-7 whole raspberries for the top of the cake; halve the remaining raspberries. Halve your whipped cream mixture; mix halved raspberries into one bowl of cream, and the crumbed Oreos into the other. Do not over-mix Oreo crumbs as this will turn the cream brown.
  6. Cut out four 8 inch circles from cooled sponge. Place first layer of sponge circle onto your plate. Make sure the bottom of the sponge is now facing upwards. Generously brush sponge with raspberry syrup. Spread a layer of raspberry + cream over the sponge. Repeat for the next two layers, before adding the last sponge layer and brushing with raspberry syrup.
  7. Crumb coat your cake and place in the fridge to chill for 10 minutes. This procedure will catch any stray crumbs and make coating your cake with cream much easier.
  8. Decorate your cake with whole raspberries, chocolate and anything else you may desire!

Enjoy! 🙂

Standard

2 thoughts on “4 Layer Raspberry & Cream Sponge Cake

Leave a Reply

