Breads, simple and easy, Snacks

Chocolate Chip Scones

Chocolate Chip Scones
These are really flipping good and were surprisingly easy to make! I made these this morning for my mother to take to a family friend’s house! I decided I didn’t want to make just plain old scones, so queue chocolate chip scones!

Scones are originally quite plain, but add in the chocolate chips (I used a mixture of both milk and dark) and you have a lightly sweetened tasty morsel for your tummy. It was a quick google that led me to the source of such deliciousness: Sugary Winzy’s Chocolate Chip Breakfast Scones!

This recipe is so easy to follow and is very much hassle free. There’s no fear that these scones will rise unevenly because you might have accidentally twisted the cutter. You won’t have to fear that you’ll have dough left over that is not enough to make another scone but is too much to feel like you can throw out. There’s no risk of over-kneading because Sugar Winzy’s recipe strikes the perfect balance between wet and dry ingredients – isn’t that great!! 😀

So. What’s wonderful about this recipe is that it can be done either completely by hand or through the aid of a food processor. Because I was a bit short on time I blended my butter, flour, sugar, salt and baking powder with my food processor before completing the other steps by hand. The recipe I list below will only detail the steps I took to make the scones by hand after crumbing the butter with a food processor—if you’d like to see how to make these scones solely with a food processor, then head on over to Sugary Winzy’s page. 🙂 I recommend adding the chocolate chips into your dry mixture not only to incorporate the chips, but also because it seems a coating of flour over chocolate chips prevents them from sinking to the bottom during baking.

Make sure the wet ingredients of egg, milk and vanilla extract are well mixed before you mix it in with the dry. I recommend mixing by hand rather than electronically pulsing your mixture through just because you don’t want to break up your chocolate chips too much and it’s all very fiddly trying to unstick your dough from the blades afterwards. You should find that the mixture should come together quickly – stir until the dough is just combined.

On your countertop, evenly sprinkle some flour onto the surface before lightly kneading your dough into an eventual ball. Add a little more flour to your dough particularly if it keeps sticking to your hands. Because I wanted to make smaller sized scones, I separated my dough into two balls afterwards.

Chocolate Chip Scones

Your dough should be dry to the touch but not crumbly.  Next, I flattened the dough balls until they were about 1 inch thick (about 2.5 cm). For me measuring thickness rather than the diameter of the dough face was preferential (the dough should be flattened out to be about 8 inches/20 cm), since my dough balls were slightly different sizes and I wanted my scones to be uniformly thick. I really enjoyed cutting my dough into 8 triangles! You can flour your knife to prevent any dough from sticking, but I just went for it flour be damned.

Chocolate Chip Scones

Arrange your triangle scones on some baking paper, placing the scones close together while still leaving small gaps in between.

Chocolate Chip Scones

In order to give your scones a lovely golden colour when they come out of the oven, beat together one egg with a tablespoon of milk and brush this egg wash over the slices. As you can see I was er…very liberal with my egg wash.

Chocolate Chip Scones

But hey, look! They all turned out just fine! 🙂 (The gradual browning of my scones happened because I didn’t realise I had placed one side of my tray higher than the other -_-) My scones were in the oven for about 29-30 minutes.

Chocolate Chip Scones

And there you have it! Fuss free scones that have a crusty outer layer while the inside is soft and fluffy 🙂 Sugary Winzy also mentions that replacing the chocolate chips with raisins is also a delicious idea. If you make these please tell me how you went! Additionally, any queries or comments you may have about this post or any on my blog please leave a comment below or send me an email! 🙂

Chocolate Chip Scones

====================

Chocolate Chip Scones

Slightly adapted from: Sugary Winzy

Bake time: 30 mins
Makes 16 small scones, or 8 large scones

Ingredients

  • 2 ½ cups all-purpose flour (350 g)
  • ½ cup granulated white sugar (100 g)
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder (10 g)
  • ⅛ teaspoon salt
  • ½ cup (8 tablespoons) butter (113 g), cold and chopped into small cubes
  • ¾ cup chocolate chips (100 g)
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract (3 g)
  • ½ cup milk (can be substituted with skim milk, or cream for richer scones) (122 g)

For the Eggwash:

  • 1 egg
  • 1 tbsp milk

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 175°C/350°F and line a baking tray with parchment paper/baking paper.
  2. Place the flour, sugar, baking powder and salt in a bowl and stir to combine well. Using a pastry blender, food processor or two knives, cut the butter into dry ingredients until you have a mixture that resembles coarse breadcrumbs.
  3. Add chocolate chips into mixture and mix well.
  4. In a separate bowl, whisk together the egg, vanilla extract and milk until well combined. Pour the egg mixture over the flour mixture and use a spoon/spatula to stir until the dough just comes together.
  5. Flour countertop before placing dough down and kneading gently to form a ball. If the dough is sticking to the counter or your hands, then add a little flour as necessary.
  6. Split the dough ball into 2 even halves and roll into 2 separate balls. Flatten the dough into a disc about 20cm/8 inches in diameter and about 2.5cm/1 inch in thickness. With a sharp, floured knife (to prevent dough sticking), halve the dough before cutting each half into 4 triangles. You should end up with 16 small triangles.
  7. Transfer the triangles onto the prepared baking sheet. Beat together one egg and tablespoon of milk. Brush the egg wash over each triangle and bake scones in the oven for 25-30 minutes, or until the scones have achieved the desired golden brown colour.

Enjoy!

Standard

One thought on “Chocolate Chip Scones

Leave a Reply

