Cakes, Dessert, Sweets & treats

Birthday cake!

Birthday Cake!

So it was my birthday a few days ago! This is the first year I’ve been working on my birthday, so I didn’t have a whole day to fiddle about. I still wanted to make my own cake though, and because my parents really liked the black forest cake I made for Mother’s Day, I decided to make that again…with a few changes 🙂

This is going to be a very short post, since I’ve already got a post up about making a black forest cake, including what the interior of the cake looks like.

Honestly, I had wanted to try making another cake, but when mum slyly pulled out a huge jar of morello cherries from her shopping bags…well. That was that! I don’t mind though 🙂 Cakes are for sharing, so the more people who enjoy the cake, happy baker, happy cake.

The main change I made was to the whipped cream; I just added 6 finely crumbed Oreos into the finished cream. So I’m not sure you could really call it a significant change. It did subtly alter the overall taste of the cake, but because the cake is also decorated with dark chocolate shavings, the Oreo flavoured whipped cream fit in nicely.

You can read about the things I did when making the black forest cake for the first time, and I hope that it helps fellow first-timers too. For the Oreo flavoured whipped cream, I reserved and mixed in about 1 cup of the whipped cream to the halved morello cherries for the filling before mixing in the Oreo biscuits. The more I look at pictures of the cake, the more it looks like an edible hat to me. Don’t you think? Oh well! As with all the cakes I decorate, I like to use whatever I come across in the supermarket and things I know that will work well together. There’s no real rule to decorating I think, just as long as you’re happy with your finished design, that’s all that matters 🙂

If you’ve got any questions you’d like to ask me, please feel free to leave a comment below or send me an email! I’ll get back to you as soon as possible 🙂

Birthday Cake!

Standard

Leave a Reply

