Dessert, Sweets & treats

Caramel-Cashew cake bars

Caramel Cashew Cake Bars

 

A while back I thought I had managed to clear out them unsalted cashew nuts. Turns out dad unearthed another jar. These nuts turned out to be just as bland as the last time I tried them. So…it was time to find new ways to make these nuts a little more tasty. This time round, mixing and matching on google ended up with me making caramel cashew cake bars!

These are pretty simple to make! I reckon if you didn’t have the 4 tablespoons of cream needed for the topping you could make a soft caramel toffee and just drizzle that onto of the cashews. If you go directly to the comments section of the recipe, you’ll see that one user even decided to drizzle on melted chocolate for topping, so anything you fancy goes! As you can see from the pictures, I was really lazy and couldn’t even be bothered to crush up my cashews. It meant my cashew distribution was a little dodgy, but my family didn’t seem to mind 🙂 If you are bringing this to a friends/family function though, even distribution of nuts would probably look more aesthetically pleasing.

Now, let me think whether I encountered any problems during the preparation process…

No, no I don’t think so. I did half the amount of sugar I used (for both white and brown) just because of family dietary requirements. I always encourage those who are baking from scratch at home to consider the health of the people they’re baking for. Additionally, rather than greasing my pan, I just put down baking paper, for ease of lifting the cake out when it was done 🙂

Caramel Cashew Cake Bars

=======================================================

Caramel-Cashew Cake Bars Recipe

adapted from Taste of Home

Makes 16 (or more, depending on how you cut it)

INGREDIENTS:

  • 3/4 cup All-Purpose Flour
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup & 2 tablespoons packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup cashews, chopped

CASHEW TOPPING:

  • 1/2 cup cashews, chopped
  • 1/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 2 tablespoons butter, melted
  • 4-1/2 teaspoons heavy whipping cream

METHOD:

  1. In a large bowl, combine the flour, sugars, baking powder and salt. Beat in the eggs just until combined. Fold in the cashews. Spread into a baking paper lined 8-inch square baking dish.
  2. Bake at 176°C (350°F) for 20-25 minutes or until top springs back when lightly touched.
  3. In a small bowl, combine the topping ingredients. Spread over cake. Pop cake back into the oven for 1 to 2 minutes until bubbly and lightly browned. Cut into bars while warm before leaving to cool on a wire rack.
Standard

Leave a Reply

