Dessert, simple and easy, Snacks

No Bake Coconut & Oreo Cookie Balls

No Bake Coconut and Oreo Cookie Balls
These balls probably aren’t the most sophisticated things I’ve made in the kitchen. But when temperatures are over 40 degrees Celsius and the air is as dry as sandpaper I’m all about going easy if I can.

Earlier today (well, technically yesterday as this post goes up), the idea of turning on the oven when I could hardly breathe as it was made me nauseous. Hell, the idea of even turning on the light so then I could see disgusted me. Still, my fingers were itching to make something that could be eaten cold and did not involve turning on any ovens. My kitchen raid adventure saw me pull out a can of condensed milk, plenty of desiccated coconut and two packets of classic Oreo cookies.

 photo 0c113333-efa2-47c2-abf3-6e1698a9cb64_zps6b5ffc41.jpg

I knew what I had to do. I was as cool as Roger Federer when he’s faced with any adversary. I shredded, twisted and popped open everything with immaculate precision. In went the Oreo cookies into the blender and pulsed.

 photo d969f56f-f8b3-4673-bd2f-9d5a450eb652_zps59058af6.jpg

I ended up throwing in about 1 and a half tablespoons of unsweetened cocoa powder into the mix because from memory when the Oreos are combined with the condensed milk, the mixture looked very grey/black and not all that appealing. Still, cocoa powder is optional and most likely will not affect the taste because you can’t really go wrong with Oreo cookies.

 photo b0bbb151-5969-464d-ac9b-6002db148d51_zpsc8d9c14f.jpg

Ah, would you look at that! If, at this point you decided that you just can’t be bothered with all the mixing and the rolling that will follow, adding this crumbly mixture to vanilla ice cream would make you a lovely ‘home made’ cookies and cream dessert. You probably wouldn’t dump the whole thing into a bowl of ice cream though. Or would you? No. No you wouldn’t because you don’t want your tummy to be going to crazy town on you a few moments later.

Now, moving on, this is where things went a little awol. The last time I made this, I used half a cup of condensed milk and substituted butter in to make everything stick. But this time I had a full tin, so in that went, without much second thought.

 photo ec8fe9ce-b817-4170-9b24-4723110a6b82_zpsd94af719.jpg

Here, I had tipped 325ml of sweetened milk into the biscuit mix…so the whole can. I don’t suggest you do this! Even when making something simple like this, you still have to think about the balance of your mixture overall. On one hand you don’t want it to be too crumbly so then you struggle to roll the mixture into a ball, but on the other hand, you don’t want it to be ridiculously runny. If I make this again, then 300ml of condensed milk will probably be the maximum amount that goes in (300g of biscuits = 300ml of sweet milk | 1:1 ratio ). This time, I resorted to balancing out the mixture by adding in more coconut into the wet mixture than I had initially planned ( 1/2 cup as opposed to 1/3).

The mixture turned out okay, though! No problems with the scooping : )

 photo 966de3b7-bdb3-45f0-bba0-8167c4f68b9a_zpsd18fa3e5.jpg

If you work quickly when rolling, then you should only be getting mixture stuck to your fingertips (where you scoop it off the spoon, so remember to throughly wash your hands before you start rolling). Have a tray or bowl covered or filled with enough desiccated coconut so it will allow for easy coating.  Each scoop should be about 1 large tablespoon in size. Use the palms of your hands, with one palm slightly cupped to help shape your balls .

I thought the idea of making these coconut and oreo cookie balls was rather fitting, what with the Australian Open for Tennis happening right now. Not to sound full of myself, I think I’m rather good at rolling aesthetically pleasing looking balls. One of the first things I learnt in art when using clay was learning how to roll bits and slabs of clay into balls. It became a small obsession of mine to roll these perfect clay balls so I used to practice on anything that had ball potential. Even now, anything left long enough in my fidgety hands ends up rather round. Now if you direct your eyeballs to the picture below…

 photo 3aef58e9-fdb1-43dc-badb-b7ca9afbed98_zps5f8dd291.jpg

My coconut and oreo balls look okay, right? WELL THEY’RE NOT. In an attempt to help the balls keep their shape in the sweltering 44 degree summer heat, I had placed the tray in the fridge for a while before I started placing the balls down as I finished them. But 10 minutes and 20 nomnom balls later, my balls had already lost their lovely ball shape and were rapidly turning into fat buttons. Wah : (

But in the end, I guess the most important thing is that they are enjoyed by those who eat them.
No Bake Coconut and Oreo Cookie Balls

===============================================

Coconut & Oreo Cookie Balls

Makes about 22 golf-sized balls

Ingredients:

  • – Two packet of Oreos (300g)
  • – 1 1/2 tablespoons of unsweetened cocoa powder
  • – 1/3 cup desiccated coconut and more for rolling
  • – 300ml condensed/ sweetened milk

Method:

  1. Put all the biscuits into a blender and pulse well.
  2. Combine cocoa, oreos and desiccated coconut in a bowl. Make a tunnel in the middle of the mixture and pour as much of the condensed milk here, before drizzling the rest over the top of the biscuit mixture.
  3. If your mixture looks a little dry, then add in more condensed milk. If too runny, then either crush more cookies into the mixture or add more coconut shreds. If unsure, always add in less condensed milk.
  4. Prepare a tray or bowl with coconut shreds. Make sure your hands are clean before beginning to roll the mixture up into balls. Work as quickly as possible, making use of both palms. Have one palm slightly cupped to guide the ball into shape.
  5. Roll the balls in the prepared tray/bowl and coat evenly. Chill balls in the fridge for about 30 minutes to allow the balls to set.

Enjoy! 🙂

I also have a slightly different method of making these balls, if you’re interested. It makes use of butter and less condensed milk

Standard

Leave a Reply

